This annual award, which commenced in 1992, is presented to the recipient at the annual UQ Courting the Greats function. The Ceremony is held at Brisbane City Hall in October each year, and also includes presentations of a number of prestigious awards, including: the UQ Graduate of the Year (prize also created and supported by Alumni Friends), and the Vice-Chancellor’s Alumni Excellence Awards, International Alumnus of the Year, Distinguished Young Alumni Awards, Indigenous Community Impact Award and Colleges’ UQ Alumni Award (see UQ’s website for more information).

Alumni Friends presents each recipient of the UQ Alumnus of the Year with a beautiful trophy (pictured), created by UQ sculptor Dr Rhyl Hinwood AM. trophyThe design combines four symbolic elements: The Helidon freestone represents The University of Queensland. The bronze pinnacle symbolizes achievement. The fountain represents inspiration. While the bronze spiral is a profound image of the movement of time and the creativity of the human spirit.

The Alumnus of the Year should be a person whose distinguished achievements have brought national and/or international recognition to The University of Queensland, and in whose development The University of Queensland has had a significant role.

Consideration will be given to the following:

  • Academic record: Undergraduate or postgraduate academic record at The University of Queensland (e.g. level of award, University Medal, significant prizes and/or scholarships);
  • Distinguished career: Relevant evidence may include positions held, overall career achievements, and/or national and international awards (including community service recognised by Australian, international or other honours).
  • Active engagement: Priority will be given to people active in their chosen field within the private and/or public sectors.

Nominations for the 2019 UQ Alumnus of the Year are now closed (the closing date was 5pm, Friday 3 May 2019). All graduates of The University of Queensland are eligible for nomination for the 2020 Award (please note that self-nomination is not accepted). The 2019 Nomination Form details eligibility criteria, and outlines the nomination process. Copies of information about the nomination process for 2020 will be available shortly from our office.

Previous recipients of the award are:

1992 David Malouf AO (Author)

1993 Professor Peter Doherty AC (Immunologist)

1994 The Honourable Penny Wensley AC (Diplomat)

1995 Ms Alison Crook AO (Librarian)

1996 Dr Margaret Valadian (Sociologist)

1997 Dr-H. Rodney Withers AO (Oncologist)

1998 Dr Geoffrey Rush (Film, Television & Theatre)

1999 Professor Lawrie Powell AC (Medicine)

2000 Professor Martin Green AM (Electrical Engineering)

2001 Mr Ted Evans AC (Secretary to the Treasury)

2002 Professor Colin Power (International Education)

2003 Air Vice-Marshal Julie Hammer AM CSC (Military)

2004 Professor John Pearn AM RFD (Medicine)

2005 Dr Andrew Liveris (Chemical Engineering)

2006 Dr Nick Earls (Author)

2007 Dr Jackie Huggins AM (Academic & Aboriginal activist)

2008 Her Excellency Dr Quentin Bryce AC, Governor-General (Human Rights & Equality)

2009 Ms Else Shepherd AM (Electrical Engineering and Music)

2010 The Hon. Sir Llewellyn Edwards AC (Medicine, 12th UQ Chancellor & World Expo 1988)

2011 Dr Dimity Dornan AM (Speech Pathology)

2012 Dr Jean Calder AC (Humanitarian Services for the Disabled and Disadvantaged)

2013 Dr J. Chris Anderson (Anthropology and Business)

2014 Dr Sallyanne Atkinson AO (Community Service)

2015 Dr W. R. B. (Russ) Morrison AM (Mechanical Engineering)

2016 Emeritus Professor Dr Mary Mahoney AO (Medicine)

2017 Adjunct Professor John Story AO (Law and Business)

2018 Emeritus Professor Helene Marsh(Science)

2019 Dr Paul Eliadis (Medicine, Classics & the Arts)